AurieaHarvey About Contact Index Random
Trail: SevenPilgrimageChurches


ProofOfMyExistence OutsideSomeplace Rome2017

The Seven Churches

The traditional stops of the Seven-Church Walk are as follows:

  1. Santa Maria Maggiore
  2. San Lorenzo fuori le Mura
  3. Santa Croce in Gerusalemme
  4. San Giovanni in Laterano
  5. San Sebastiano fuori le mura
  6. San Paolo fuori le mura
  7. San Pietro in Vaticano

The Route

Beginning at Santa Maria Maggiore, go towards Termini, and take the Via Giovanni Giolitti, turning left on Via Tiburtina. San Lorenzo will be on the right.

From San Lorenzo, follow the Via del Verano towards Porta Maggiore; follow the Via Eleniana; Santa Croce will be on your left.

From Santa Croce, go left out of the basilica, and follow the Viale Luciano Lama to San Giovanni.

From San Giovanni, turn right out of the basilica, and take the Via Magna Grecia, which turns into the Via Britannia, the Via Acaia, and the Via Cilicia; turn left onto the Via Appia Antica, and San Sebastiano will be on your right, just past the Catacombs of San Callisto.

From San Sebastiano, take two lefts out of the basilica to put you on the Via delle Sette Chiese; this road will take you to the Via Ostiense, where you will see San Paolo.

From San Paolo, turn right out of the front doors and follow the Via Ostiense to Piramide; turn left onto the Via Marmorata, and then bear right onto the Lungotevere Aventino; you may cross the river at any point and continue in the same direction; after Santo Spirito in Sassia, turn left onto the Via della Conciliazione, and proceed to San Pietro in Vaticano.

The entire journey is around 22.5 km.